Guilty Pleasure

Greenwich Village, NYC. One of my favourite writing spots.
Greenwich Village, NYC. One of my favourite writing spots.
After a three month blog-break to focus on my final semester of uni – I’m now back! But I spent the entire past weekend feeling guilty. Guilty about the fact that I felt like I should have been writing an assignment, or editing one, or doing a unit module, or a reading. It was a wasted feeling, because on Friday 9 October I submitted my final assignments for my Graduate Diploma in Journalism. My official results are released in three weeks, and I’m on track for a distinction GPA.

Before I started in July 2013, I’d been talking about studying journalism for years. In the end it took one final prompt from my sister, “I’m sick of you talking about it, just enrol already”, so I did. I loved almost every second of the course. I enrolled with the intention of embarking on a passion for writing for personal benefit, rather than any professional benefit. I am, however, considering looking at new job options early next year. I still have a way to go, but I know that my writing has improved out of sight in the last two years and half years – and that’s all I wanted from the course.

In the last few weeks, I’ve been peppered with questions about what I’m going to do after I finished, as I approached graduation. I thought when I enrolled, that I’d have it figured out by now. I still don’t know for sure. I’ve chosen to study for the majority of my 20s so far. So I do know that it’s definitely time for a break. For real this time! I’m ready to try new things and projects. Everything from finally catching up on Mad Men (I’m a few episodes in and I’m obsessed already), to having time to explore Melbourne properly, writing more – on my blog, Weekend Notes, maybe a zine or some other form of self-publishing, and spending more time with my friends.

I’m a little nervous, but excited to see what the next few years hold. But for the short-term I have a few things to tick off. For years now one of my best friends and I have been talking about visiting Turkey. Next March, we will finally do it, with a visit to Croatia thrown in as well. Next year, I’m taking a break from Brisbane. Since moving to Melbourne in April 2013, I’ve returned (and will be returning) 12 times, plus a few flights to Adelaide and Sydney. These trips have mostly revolved around Christmas and weddings. I’ve started putting the hard word on family and friends to visit me in Melbourne next year! This means, what I’m not spending on domestic flights I can properly focus on putting money toward my ultimate life dream of living in New York. I hope to make this happen in the first half of 2017.

I will certainly keep you all updated with my results, and what I’ll get up to in the coming months and during 2016, but in the meantime I’d like to thank the following people: Ashley, Erin, Tim, James, Lesley, Lauren, Meg, Giselle, Tenneil, Mum and Dad. I never would have made it to the end of my course without these people helping me and guiding me through a few assignments and personal writings along the way. Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasure

  1. Congratulations on finishing your uni course, Mel! When I graduated uni, I was so happy to finally get out of education, but it was also super daunting not having that safety net. I can’t imagine going back now, but I really admire that you did it for personal, rather than professional development. You have more passion to dedicate to a hobby, as well as a whole new avenue of career options to explore. Exciting!

    YES. Mad Men! How amazing is it?! It’s one of the most superb dramas out there and if the show isn’t more motivation to live in New York, I don’t know what is! I’m so glad I was of help during your last year of uni. 🙂 Your support has definitely inspired me to keep pushing myself with my blog and thank you for being such a lovely friend in general! xox

  2. Super proud of you Mel. Here’s a tip, like your sister you will always have a passion for learning and increasing your knowledge. But it’s always nice to recharge for your next big adventure.
    Your very welcome, always happy to help and listen. Love mumxxxx

  3. Congratulations Mel!!!! I know you can achieve anything you set your mind to. NYC is waiting 🎓🗽🇺🇸

Leave a Reply

